The Crypt Chapel is a small chapel dedicated to All Saints situated underneath St George's Chapel and is constructed with arches and vaulting, making this an intimate and peaceful place for prayer and contemplation.
The Crypt Chapel is the first purpose-built chapel in an English Cathedral for the storage of ashes and the names engraved in the stone walls include some of the most significant people in the Cathedral and city's history.
In the corner of the Chapel is the Regimental Columbarium of the York and Lancaster Regiment in which are interred the ashes of some members of the Regiment. Above the columbarium is the badge of the Regiment depicting the Royal Tiger with the Union Rose above and surmounted by a coronet. Below the Tiger is a scroll inscribed York and Lancaster with laurel sprays joining the scroll to the coronet.
Tucked away in the far corner of the Chapel is a unique window by Keith New, created in 1966 in memory of Rowley Hill who was Vicar of Sheffield from 1873 to 1877. Its design is inspired by a vision of the Heavenly city with its twelve pearl gates represented by twelve pearly mosaic circles and the 'glory of light' being created by hundreds of tiny coloured Perspex tubes creating jewel colours through which light enters the chapel.